soft-boiled essays

I’ve been into softer looking styles. Putting the images I like together, I think about someone who is the opposite of Phillip Marlowe, Raymond Chandler’s hard boiled detective.

 

“He is the hero,” Chandler wrote. “He is everything. He must be a complete man and a common man and yet an unusual man. He must be, to use a rather weathered phrase, a man of honor.” So, of course, I think, “What would this man be like if her were a woman?”

I think she would be muted, foreign, conserved, and scientific. Phillip Marlowe feels like an Aquarius to me – he does his work for people but doesn’t really like to be around them. A feminine Aquarius then? She’s rarely femme.

001546bbf0d75ccc7093b021531fc4a9

7622288a0dca0bc440230e5e8e8f55cd

Isn’t glossy eyeshadow cool? I feel like she would definitely have clear, glossy eyes.

b13

My friend braided my hair and I’ve been thinking about it ever since. It’s just hard to braid your own hair tight!

ruthie_top_ivory_2

shirt

And then, her clothes would be hard lines but soft colors and textures.

Leave a Reply

